diy solar

diy solar

Efficent microwave?

squarpeg

I notice my old 700watt microwave draws 1200watts. Are there more efficient options available?

There are some more expensive true inverter style that will ramp down power versus on/off cycling as the traditionals ones run.

An inverter style microwave can heat food more gently. but for longer

I have an inverter microwave and it draws 2000 watts on high/default.

I love dialing back to 30% for soups. (no eruptions)
Its wonderful for defrosting.

You can soften butter and ice cream nicely without any melting! That is awesome!!

I am no expert and I dont know why your microwave is drawing 1200 watts when it should be 700.

Last edited:
You may be observing a reading that is actually kVA and not Watts. I notice that my 1000W microwave reads more like 1200+ on my XW inverter display, but I think that display is actually reading kVA.

There's probably significant power factor in play. Most microwaves have a serious transformer and/or other electronics that kick the pf waayyy off of 1.0. That'll mess up a power reading taken with a device that doesn't understand that and calculate accordingly.

Inverter type or turn down the settings.
Medium power on a normal microwave is full power on off 50% duty cycle, so if his concern is max loading inverter microwave is only real choice I think

Medium power on a normal microwave is full power on off 50% duty cycle, so if his concern is max loading inverter microwave is only real choice I think
Yes, I think that is correct, we had the discussion in a thread a year or so ago and the microwave I had in my camper would cycle the amp draw. But it does help with a slightly undersized system.

The convection microwave I just installed in my camper draws 1500W when heating a cup of water using the beverage setting. I didn't check the convection part (heating element) as I figured it might melt the 2/0 battery cables. :)

Seriously, I think the element is 1700W.