diy solar

diy solar

EG4 6000 XP general questions part II

kdomm

Hi all, I recently got some great advice from @BentleyJ via a post a week or so ago and I'm hugely grateful to them for the help! At the time I thought a 30amp transfer switch was the right thing for me, but after learning bit more, I felt that a 50amp transfer switch would give me some more flexibility for not too much more expense. So, as a total newb, I am of course concerned about my choices.

In the diagram below, you can see that in my initial set up I'm not integrating solar or a propane generator yet (though I would like too soon). I've seen many people indicate that 50 amps is fine so hopefully that's true. The transfer switch is a fairly easy concept for me to grasp and seems safe and doable as a diy. I'm using an outlet and inlet box so that I don't hardwire the inverter to the house and can just unplug it and take it and the batteries with me when I move. I'd leave everything else.

Anyway, the questions are does the diagram below look sane? And is the transfer switch the way to go? Someone mentioned using a 'critical loads panel' as opposed to the transfer switch. Is that the same as a sub-panel? Does a sub-panel help make the inverter more automated in that it will take advantage of the inverter's ability to use the grid if solar or batteries are not available? Is that what sub-panel offers over a transfer switch? As far as wiring goes, to use a sub-panel, would I move the items I want to power with the inverter from the primary breaker panel to the sub-panel?

I'm feeling that there are just so many ways to go. I guess my goals are to be safe, keep this doable for a newb, keep it flexible for future expansion, keep it portable and fully leverage the functionality of the 6000 xp.

Any thoughts very welcome and thank you.

solar-generator.png