diy solar

diy solar

EG4 6000 XP general questions

kdomm

Hi all, due in large part to Will Prowse and this forum I took the plunge and ordered a EG4 6000 XP and two EG4 LL-S Lithium Battery | 48V 100AH. I have plans for growing this set up, but in the short term I simply aim to connect it to my breaker panel and use it as a backup.

A transfer switch makes a lot of sense to me and though I'm a complete newb, I'm fairly handy and feel that with care I can diy it. Maybe something like this:

However, and I feel really dumb for having to ask this, how do I connect the AC in? I mean, can you just cut off a the ends of a heavy extension cord, wire it, and plug it into the wall? Do I add a breaker to my main panel and wire it to that? I expect the latter is the way, but I really want to keep this as portable as possible b/c I probably won't be staying in this house for long.

Thanks in advance for any help!

The 6000XP is a 240V split phase inverter. The best way to connect the inverter AC Input is via a 2 pole, 25 to 30A breaker in your main panel. The transfer relay is rated for up to 50A but the Reliance Transfer switch is rated at 30A so the breaker has to be sized to protect everything downstream.

You could use 10/4 or 8/4 SO cable for a direct connection between the panel and the inverter. Another choice would be to install a NEMA 14-50 Receptacle in an outdoor box then make up an SO cord with the mating plug on one end and direct wire to the inverter on the other end. The 25 to 30A breaker rule would still apply but I would use #6 wire for the NEMA 14-50 receptacle connection to the panel just so the next owner of the house could safely upgrade the breaker to the full 50A receptacle rating.