diy solar

diy solar

EG4 - 6500EX-48 - Power Consumption

NVCYberPro

Hi,

I am new to Solar and am building an off grid system as time and money permit. So far I have a EG4-6500 with EG4-LL batteries and 10 - 410 Watt SolarEver panels. As is on sunny days the system runs basically everything I need it to run, I am saving for more panels and additional batteries as our after sunset activities are limited to keeping the well and a few critical items running as needed.

My question is not related to that so much and is more general. When the system has 0 load but is powered on, if my understanding is correct it, the system is drawing between 1.9 and 2.3 amps just waiting for something to be turned on requiring AC. Does this sound correct or do I have something configured wrong, Is that what it takes to keep the system running? seems like its pulling 90 - 110 watts with no load and the AC panel breakers disconnected.

Really what I need to know is this normal and that I need to plan for that 90 - 110 watt draw (loss) 24x7x365 or am I doing something wrong? My plans include adding a 2nd 6500EX-48 and running in split phase, if this is true just having both units would be similar to running a 250 watt heat lamp 24x7?

Thank you in advance for any help or suggestions.

View attachment 136444
Idle Power Consumption is listed at 70W (this may be outdated)

Below is a post from EG4 owner saying it should be 1.8amp. (80-85w).

Post in thread 'RESOLVED: EG4 6500EX and 6000EX Lights Flickering FIRMWARE'
https://diysolarforum.com/threads/r...-lights-flickering-firmware.54956/post-704017

No, probably not.
Thank you for the clarification - I am ~20% higher than listed. and pretty much in lock step with w8dev. I would think that this and a lot of the EG4 documentation needs updating. Has anyone every read that small book that comes with the 6500EX? The settings on the first pages conflict with the setting listed in the middle of the book, the english and writing are awful.