diy solar

diy solar

EPever 3kW with 1.296kWh LiFePO4 and 1kW of panels

solararray

I have been working away at putting together a solar system as a backup for my home. I have been toying with the idea of even eventually getting off grid electricity entirely if I can save some money long term. Electric rates have just gone up from 0.14 kwh to 0.16 kwh (GBP).

In a previous post I was looking at how to expand the storage on a GZ Yeti without using the expensive Yeti link. Now the Yeti's inverter can only produce up to 1.5kw of power which works great for backing up a fridge and a few other small things but I decided I want more power! I'll continue to look out for a solution to that problem.

Because I like to do things as simply as possible (and because I am a solar noob) I have been looking at 'all in one inverter-charge controller' units such as these:
upower-front-500x500.png

"24V 3000W EPever Upower All In One Combined 3Kw Inverter"

My idea would be to plug my house loads into the AC out on the unit (I have a plug thingy at home that connects to the houses electric circuits and you turn a switch from "mains" to "generator".) The wire is limited to 3kW (otherwise I would get a larger inverter) according to an electrician I asked.

This EPever unit can run 2.4kW of loads continuously and up to 3kW for 15 mins and surge to 6kW. This would be sufficient to start and run:
  • Worcester house furnace (1150W start up and a tiny fraction continuously thereafter)
  • Additional freezer (I can't remember the wattage now)
  • House lighting (LED- most bulbs are between 3-10W)
  • Laptop computers (100W each approx)
  • Router 24W

So with the above, I can have a warm house with lights and communications. Additionally, I reckon I can possibly run:

s-l300.jpg

"Small plugin oven/hob (1500W/1600W respectively) "