diy solar

diy solar

Erm….novice

Ic8man

Hi, sorry to bother all, complete novice (reading a lot to try and educate self), question I hope I can get some support with.

Small workshop/ shed.

System that was working-

Two 100w renogy compact panels, wired in parallel to eco worthy 30 charge controller (in line switch/ fuse).

Subsequently wired to two new 50 lifepo ecoworthy batteries wired in parallel with battery monitor and 2000w sine wave inverter (fused) also attached.

All was working fine. Powering a small 12v fridge, drills etc and eco flow battery to bring ‘energy into house’.

Added two more of same panels. Wired as below (sorry if easier way to describe).

+ve from controller to panel 1, -ve to panel 2’s +ve and then panel 2-ve to splitter back to controller.

And then mirrored setup with panel 3+4.

So I think I have two sets of two panels in series, then paralleled to charge controller.

I ‘think’ this then gives me a 24v system with 10a??

When I flick the switch from panels to controller I get 14v ish showing on screen. I noted settings are still in 12v, so changed the controller setting to 24v, which then displayed e01 error message ‘low battery’.

Am I doing something daft?! Should I wire the panels differently, do I even make sense?

Many thanks for any consideration to responding. Much obliged.

Pictures can be added if useful.

Bw

Chris

Your solar side can be higher voltage (don't use the terms 12V/24V for panels, they are what the panels say their Vmp is). Your controller shows battery side, which stays 12V since that's what your batteries are.

Okay cool,

So should what I have described work? Instead of kicking an error message?

Sincerely,

Chris

Inverter etc stil works when switch the controller to 24v, shows briefly 28.8v from panels to controller and then kicks E01 error message (but inverter etc still works).

Attachments

• 8E396C0B-6BC1-44F0-8869-64E6BD988A5D.jpeg
    8E396C0B-6BC1-44F0-8869-64E6BD988A5D.jpeg