diy solar

diy solar

First try at a build, in over my head more than I thought

Shred802

Solar beginner here. Trying to add solar to my off-grid cabin to replace the gas generator being used. Thought I could just buy an EG 3000EHV-48 inverter, EG4 LifePower4-48V/100ah battery, and a few 200W solar panels and have enough to power minimal things -lights, Starlink, charge devices, etc.

First realization was that the cabin was actually wired split-phase using a 4-prong generator plug for the generator, although no appliances are/will be 240V...got around this by wiring the two loads together at the inverter side and works fine enough. Considering returning for the 6000EX-48HV to hook up the split phase properly.

2nd realization is needing 120V minimum solar input...okay so I need to buy more panels. Now I just learned of the high idle consumption of these EG4 inverters which leaves barely any battery capacity when the sun isn't shining.

Getting pretty stressed about this so I'm looking for any recommendations on what I could do. Don't need a crazy amount of power at the cabin- maybe 200-250W max at any given time during the day and that would be with everything turned on. Would be great to still utilize the Eg4 battery as that cost a fair bit to ship plus restocking fees are up to 40%...so wondering what might be compatible for an inverter that has a much relatively lower idle draw. Thank you so much for any thoughts or considerations you can send my way!

If you wish to upgrade to a quality 240V split phase inverter with lower idle consumption a Schneider SW4048 would be a good choice. Maybe a little larger than what you normally need but will easily operate a skill saw Etc. or portable air compressor for occasional maintenance and repairs.

Victron is an alternative if you decide to keep the 120V system.