diy solar

diy solar

Fuse and breaker questions for 6k inverter.

Wv lew

Newbie here. Thanks in advance for helping me. I do electrical stuff all day long but new to solar. I’m just starting to install phase one of my solar, so right now it’s an eg4. 6000 ex, 12-Trina Solar 280 watt panels ground mount, and 1-eg4 LL 48 volt battery.

A couple questions;
1st, does the all in one 6000 ex by eg4 have any overload or short circuit protection built in for the solar input, or for the battery output etc? I would think it does, but who knows.

2- I looked at will prowse design for the split phase eg4 6500’s and he has breakers and fuses. Can I use a breaker to the battery output? I am thinking of using the Nader dc circuit breaker from signature solar, more specifically is that ok or even needed since the eg4 LL48 battery I’m using has a built in breaker?

3- what kind of overload /short circuit protection do I need on my solar, right now all I have is the disconnect which doesn’t supply any protection it just disconnects. In hindsight if the all in one inverter doesn’t have any protection for it, maybe a breaker here would have been smarter than a disconnect as the breaker can also serve as a disconnect. Any suggestions for a breaker for the solar pv input?

Thank you

Attachments

• IMG_6121.png
    IMG_6121.png
    1.9 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_6117.jpeg
    IMG_6117.jpeg
    77.6 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_6126.jpeg
    IMG_6126.jpeg
    864.2 KB · Views: 7
The 6000 has programming that limits how much power it can output, but I doesn't have built in physical protection AFAIK.
If all you are going to have is 1 battery, you are not going to get much bang for your buck out of your system.
The inverter itself uses a large amount of power, and you would have trouble starting much of a load with just 1 battery.
It will also drain very quickly just self powering.