diy solar

diy solar

Giandel 1200W pure sine wave inverter restarts

eslad

Hi I have the following setup.
1 - Used Canadian 240W Solar Panel connected to 20A mppt renogy charge controller connected to LiTime 12V 50Ah lithium battery connected to Giandel 1200W pure sine wave inverter. My modem is plugged into the inverter. Everyday when the input Voltage reaches around 14V the inverter restarts. I had the same problem with a 500W inverter as well. I'm not sure if the solar panel is wrong for the charge controller or if the battery is the issue. However, when I used the marine grade deep cycle lead acid battery, I had no issues with atleast the 500W inverter. What might be causing this issue? I'm a noob.

It is possible that the Giandel 1200W is over sensitive to voltage.

I think that it is possibly more likely that the renogy is cutting off charging abruptly and there is a fluctuation that freaks out the Giandel? Or the renogy is not rolling off charging responsively enough and it overvolts?
Just wildhat guessing.

My 1200W Giandel was always fantastic fwiw
when I used the marine grade deep cycle lead acid battery, I had no issues with atleast the 500W inverter.
Lead acid batteries have much lower resistance. LiFePo can punch out amps more immediately than lead acid.
Perhaps the bms is cutting off in the LiFePo battery due to the renogy not doing it judiciously?

Thank you for your response @12VoltInstalls. I looked in the manual that Giandel can handle up to 16V max so is it possible to change the threshold from 14 to 15 maybe? I bought this used and I don't have the communication module for it etc... I think it may have been set to 14V by the previous owner.

Thank you for lead acid battery comment, that makes sense.

Last edited:
Can the issue be also that the load is too low on the inverter?

Does your modem operate on 12VDC by chance? You could take the inverter out of the equation.