diy solar

diy solar

Hello from scenic beautiful toothless Ohio :)

Jim535

Hello
I’m fairly new to solar/battery backups systems but watching a lot of videos and reading a lot. I’ve found Will Prowse helpful and like the spirit of JahuGarcia. I find most resources either super basic or too advanced and hard to find that sweet spot. I’m hoping to learn a lot for people who have paved the way here.
As some back ground I hail from Cincinnati and recently started really looking into ways to supplement power. I’m a luxury car technician with certifications in high voltage and battery certification as well. While that sounds like I should be able to do anything related to wiring up a home system the reality is that I’ve been trained and taught DC power my entire life and to be honest AC power makes basically no sense LOL. It’s essentially magic and yes I’ve read how it works several times. I feel comfortable and understand DC power but can’t even change a faulty light switch in my home…I guess we all have something to deal with. My brand alone is planning to put 7 million EVs on the road by 2025 and I’m sure other manufacturers are similar. The thought of powering all these cars makes me nervous for an already “iffy” grid.
I’m not sure why I find DC power simple and safe but even a small amount of AC power scares me.
Anyways I guess that’s a fear I need to address if I plan to mess with solar panels and power stations and stuff. Anyways I posted a thread about portable solar generators and could use some help there or ideas. Thanks for having me and hopefully I don’t come off too stupid too soon.

I think households need 2 EV's charging from their home solar which they alternate between on a daily basis, drive one while the other sits at home and charges