diy solar

diy solar

Hi all......Newbie here from UK. Looking for help on bms problem.

johnmac

After seeing Will's video on diy Lithium batt, build($555 one), I took the plunge and built one for my campervan.

In lockdown for past 3 months, so just tested using my 12v compressor fridge and everything was working A1.

Battery charged fine using my Victron mppt and 160w solar. Then last week went to run the fridge again and nothing.

Fridge light just flashed on and off. Checked voltage on batt. terminals and only showed 1.9v.

Took batt. out of case and tested on the bench. Reading 13.6v on batt. Batt. positive to c- on bms reading 12.6v
but when I put a load on it goes to zero !! bms is jbdspo4so2o 4s 100amp. Hoping someone can throw some light on this for me.

Thanks

Does sound like a bad bms. How many amp-hrs is the battery rated, and how many amps is the test load drawing?
To test the fridge, do you have another 12v battery (eg a car battery) you can use to connect to the fridge, and check its startup amperage draw?

If you can connect the lifepo4 battery directly to the fridge, bypassing the bms, you can run the fridge and check the amps and voltage on the battery to verify it's ok.

Does sound like a bad bms. How many amp-hrs is the battery rated, and how many amps is the test load drawing?
To test the fridge, do you have another 12v battery (eg a car battery) you can use to connect to the fridge, and check its startup amperage draw?

If you can connect the lifepo4 battery directly to the fridge, bypassing the bms, you can run the fridge and check the amps and voltage on the battery to verify it's ok.
Thanks for quick reply. I have connected a 12v lead acid batt. directly to fridge and it works fine. I've also connected the lifepo4 direct and it works also. Battery is fine. Seems to be as soon as you apply a load the bms cuts out. The loads I'm talking about is the fridge itself which I wouln't think