diy solar

diy solar

Need a new BMS and a total newbie .....

davecason

Hi, I have a very simple setup to "play" with it's a ........

My one panel is a Canadian Solar CS3U-380MS
Nominal Max Power (Pmax) 380 W
Opt Operating Voltage (Vmp) 40.0 V
Opt Operating Current (Imp) 9.50 A
Open Circuit Voltage (Voc) 47.8 V
Short Circuit Voltage (Isc) 10.01 A
Max System Voltage IEC 1000V & UL 1500V
Max Series Fuse Rating 30 A

I have that panels output going to a EPEVER Tracer 4215BN and I have their software, and it was talking relatively happy on the USB To RS-485 converter but their " Solar Station Monitor" software is buggy as all hell and keeps crashing on my laptop and I have the MT 50 remote meter too .....

I "had" it then going to a DALY J05W3-CP-HJ19 but its SO old that the only plug-in's it had were for each cell. All the other places on that BMS were blanked out so you couldn't plug anything else in and besides - its dead now so I have to replace it . I need a new BMS but obviously I'd want the "best" one out there and since I'm just playing with it and not doing anything with the system but just using it to learn, I figured I should ask you guys (the experts) what you would suggest I replace it with?

So I'd like a JK BMS but when I just on AliExpress I can't find an appropriate model to order? Mostly because the site is such a mess and I need to buy it there since I'm not working right now and funds are limited so I want to get it from there rather then a dealer in Canada and pay the mark up.

That BMS will be wired to four (4) standard LiFePO4 cells from Basen in China. They are:

3.2 V LiFePo4 Cell
Capacity: 272 Ah
Voltage: 3.24 V
IR: 0.12 m Ohm

So there's the 4 in series with the buss bars and I've got a bunch of 50, 60 and 200a fuses with a pile of various length cables all 2 AWG and 5/6 lugs and a few buss bars so hooking it all back up won't be a problem.