diy solar

diy solar

Couple of newbie questions.

R1200GS

I want to build a 10-15kw system on a new construction house. With the price of the panels in the pallet quantities approaching $0.25 per watt prices on other components play a major role in the overall cost. I'm just getting started and it is hard for me to account for all necessary parts. What is the final number I should budget for?
The system will be grid-tied and should be ready for the battery backup. I haven't figured the exact architecture yet. I'd prefer to run microinverters, but it seems that an all in one string inverter is the most cost-effective way to add a battery. What do you think is optimal?
Am I likely to run into some hidden regulatory issues? Our guide says:
"Although a licensed master electrician is required to hook up the panels to the electric system, there are no special
certification requirements to install the solar system itself in Maryland" https://energy.maryland.gov/Reports/A Maryland Consumers Guide to Solar.pdf
So it seems like I can do most of the work myself and hire an electrician only to commission the system.

See if you will be forced on a utility rate plan that is disadvantageous.

What are your utility rates?

As for budget, around $1/W for hardware, so $10k to $15k or so.

Microinverters are good for designers and installers. No need to plan strings and orientation. String inverters are efficient, reliable, easy to replace or service. However, optimizers or RSD go on individual panels, not easily accessible. hopefully no shade, and all panels on a string of same orientation. So go with RSD not optimizer (but you don't get panel level monitoring/diagnosis.)

Once you've got PV, would be nice to have backup. Consider a hybrid. Determine what motor-starting surge is required.