diy solar

diy solar

Six Panel Solar Setup - Couple of Questions

speculant

Complete beginner here but I have done some limited research and I want to make sure I don't make any huge mistakes. I'm trying to keep this project budget-friendly so I have sourced everything used and I have managed to keep it under $1000 so far. The primary goal of the project is to provide enough power to run 2 oscillating fans and a window fan basically 24/7 to help keep the air circulated so that is why I kept the inverter relatively small. The secondary goal is to provide a DC power source to charge other portable battery banks (Ecoflow, etc) which I use quite often in other areas of the house (I will save a lot of money if I can charge them via solar and not wall power).

I already installed six Trinasolar TSM-235PA05 panels in my backyard in a ground-mount south facing configuration. Per panel: VOC 37.1V, ISC 8.31A, PMAX 235W. I already have a Victron 150/60 MPPT charge controller and a 12V 300Ah Lifepo4 battery, and a 12V 400W pure sine inverter. I am waiting on receiving a Victron smart shunt so I can monitor SOC. I am planning on connecting the panels in a 3S2P config which should give me a VOC of 111.3V and ISC of 16.62A so the solar to the MPPT should be fine with 12AWG cables.

It appears that I will need a 30A fuse before the solar hits the MPPT (16.62 * 1.56 = 25.9 rounded up to 30). Do I also need a fuse between any other portions of the setup, and if so, how do I calculate the required size?