diy solar

diy solar

High C-rate Charging questions

12VoltInstalls

life passes by too quickly to not live in freedom
This is about high C-rate charging of manufactured LFP batteries.

Contents:
  1. I’m studying up before I do something stupid because I know enough to know what I don’t know; I snippet-quote from other threads
  2. I comment on the context
  3. I ask a few questions
1:
LFP while discharging has no clue about where the juice is going, it does not care. When charging, it can take a low amp charge to full 1C or better (depending on your cells type).

c rate will be the maximum that one bms can handle
@Substrate said:
posted one scientific paper that specifically says that DoD is a factor, but is much less significant than calendar time and temperature. He then posts a different scientific paper which doesn't even support his assertion.
These threads are all over the place. While I learned some things I still thought I’d confirm my assumptions.

2:
I have two 140Ah 12V btrpower batteries to be series 12V and likely to order a third. 125A Class T fuses on each pos(+), 2ga series cables, 2/0 to busbar. Btrpower website, “…battery is equipped with 100A BMS (Battery Management System) to protect it from overcharge, over-discharge, over-current, and short circuit…”

Just received a new 200VOC Epever 6420AN. I think I have 2ga charging cables but might be 4ga- (I bought whatever the largest gage the Epever specs indicated would fit in the terminal fittings.)
Will plumb six new-old-stock 315W RecSolar panels 3S2P to it. Panels are 45.5VOC, nominal 36.8V, short circuit 9.09A, nominal power 8.62A.
Have a 4215AN and want to connect existing 100W panels 4S2P to same batteries. 6ga cables to battery busbar.
This will provide an expected 90- 100A of charging to the battery bank, or .5C for 2S, .33 for 3S
2000W QZRELB/Reliable psw inverter fed with 2/0 cables

3a:
Is my assumption correct the .5C will not affect the overall lifespan in any significant manner?
3b: