diy solar

diy solar

How Do I Backup My Raspberry Pi Venus (Cerbo GX)?

featherlite

Solar Enthusiast
I now successfully run the Victron Venus software loaded onto an SD card inserted into my Raspberry Pi 4 B. Consequently, the Rpi operates like a fully functional Victron Cerbo GX.

I also used terminal commands to add a soft shutdown feature to the Rpi, which for me, was a grueling process.

All of this was done after several of the forum members coached me through the set up process. I am not a computer programmer, with the result that, much of what I did was “monkey see, monkey do”.

How can I back up the first SD card onto a second SD card?

For example, if my first SD card gets corrupted, rather than having to go through the trouble of flashing a new SD card and taking the time to set up Venus on the new SD card for use in the Rpi, I would like to be able to simply insert a backup SD card into the Rpi and get back to monitoring my system without delay.

I tried merely copying the first SD card onto a second SD card but the second SD card did not work in the Rpi.

As an aside, I have a second Rpi and also set it up as Cerbo GX. The second Rpi also works fine. However, the two SD cards are not interchangeable between the two Rpi. I do not know if there is a work around for that separate issue.

Has anybody here made a backup SD card loaded with Venus for their Rpi?

Thank you for your continued help!

Last edited:
What OS are you using? I assume it's macOS by this post https://diysolarforum.com/threads/h...unning-victron-venus.72655/page-2#post-924377

(I stalked you cuz I don't want to wait a day to answer again)

Typically you can use 1000 different tools to create a disk image. win 32 disk imager or rufus on windows both have an easy save button

Mac has built in dd command which is what I'd use and know how to use. They also have the "disk utility" which I don't know how to use and would have to look at it and read it to figure it out.