diy solar

diy solar

How do I charge Lifepo4 with normal alternator?

LinusR

This has probably been discussed already here, but I have a hard time finding it...

I´m building my first ever Lifepo4 batteries I´m going to use them in my boat, I ordered 16cells 320ah and I´m building 2x24v batteries, and paralell connect them.
but how can I charge them with my normal engine alternators? I have friend how built one 24v 280ah battery using Daly BMS 120A and he has been running his system for a year now without any problems but he did not do any modifications he only replaced his old AGM batteries with this lifepo4 and Daly BMS...

From what I understan the alternator should burn up if doing like that?

I also have shore power and I have a mastervolt mass 24/100c charger connected to that, can I use that same charger to charge these Lifepo4 batteries?
I will be adding solar panels later to this same system.

Last edited:
So if I need to get a Dc/dc charger how many amps should I go for? How long would it take to charge my Lifepo4 batteries?

2 x 320ah lifepo4 is alot of power, and I'm using a 2500w inverter for making coffee a few times per day and a toaster, I might some days use a Kettle. Other than that it's mostly the 24volt refridgerator that wil be running 24/7 some Led lights will be uset when dark outside.

So I'm thinking maby a victron energy 24/24-17amp would be enough? That way I could charge at least a little without frying the alternator, driving back home after a few days at anchor...
And then charge up at dock with shore power?

Would my Mastervolt MASS 24/100-C work?
Can't find anything about it in users manual?

FWIW, I charge a 12V, 1200ah pack from an alternator without any issues, so it's not a problem as long as you take some time to set it up.

Do you already have alternator control on your setup? (Balmar, Wakespeed, etc)

The alternator charging issues can be solved, it's really 3 main issues to watch for