diy solar

diy solar

How many of you set your battery max discharge under 20% ?

Sorry for the ignorant question (I'm quite new to this) but what is it about charging fully that ensures the battery is properly balanced? Is that something the BMS can only do at full charge, or what?
No problem, everybody has to learn somewhere.

Since LFP has such a flat voltage curve, the BMS is (usually and absolutely should be) programmed to balance once a cell is above 3.4v/cell. 3.4v/cell is 99-100% SOC, so yes, a LiFePO4 battery can only be (top) balanced at full charge.

There are other instances to bottom balance, but for Solar installs, top balance is almost always the way to go.

No problem, everybody has to learn somewhere.

Since LFP has such a flat voltage curve, the BMS is (usually and absolutely should be) programmed to balance once a cell is above 3.4v/cell. 3.4v/cell is 99-100% SOC, so yes, a LiFePO4 battery can only be (top) balanced at full charge.

There are other instances to bottom balance, but for Solar installs, top balance is almost always the way to go.
Uhhh, I’m a solar install and I beg to differ.

I’m thinking you probably meant ‘solar backup-power installs’ where the battery is charged full daily and rarely if ever discharged.

For that solar use-case, I fully agree.

I don’t care about backup power for my use case, which it offset of consumption.

I capture all my DC-coupled solar power in my battery during the day and use that stored energy to offset consumption for as long as that battery charge will last into the night.

So my battery never, ever gets fully-charged and is fully discharged nightly.

For that solar use-case, a bottom-balanced LiFePO4 battery works much more effectively than a top-balanced LiFePO4 battery…