diy solar

diy solar

Trying to decide on a 48V 100ah Battery with max discharge of 50amps

Gairyc

Newbie here. I am trying to purchase a battery. It's 5kwh. 48v 100ah but with only 50amp max discharge and 25amp standard charge/discharge. Is this a good battery? A so called Powerwall. Seems like many of the ones here in Jamaica have this rating. I I notice rack batteries like EG4 will do 100amps, but not here unless you spend a lot more for someone to import. Any advice?
It's gonna be paired with a 4000 watt inverter, and 2700w of Solar. Will be doing a separate load panel to keep within the battery capacity.
Advice appreciated.

Battery on vendor site
or File with specs attached.

Attachments

• Powerwall 5k 48v 100ah.pdf
    34.5 KB · Views: 8
Really depends on how long you want your batteries to last and what you are powering.

Last edited:
50A discharge limit on a 48V nominal battery is only 2,400W which is undersized if its a true 4,000W inverter. You would never be able to use the full capacity of the inverter.
Is the inverter rated at 4,000W continuous or is that that the peak output?

Ultimately it depends on what your loads are. If you only need to keep the refrigerator, couple of lights and maybe a TV or computer running then the battery will work.

You really need to specify the load and how many hours of run time on battery is needed. Without this info we can't help.

Newbie here.
Welcome to the DIY Solar Forum @Gairyc
I am trying to purchase a battery. It's 5kwh. 48v 100ah but with only 50amp max discharge and 25amp standard charge/discharge. Is this a good battery? A so called Powerwall. Seems like many of the ones here in Jamaica have this rating. I I notice rack batteries like EG4 will do 100amps, but not here unless you spend a lot more for someone to import. Any advice?