diy solar

diy solar

Best budget friendly 48v 100ah

benneufeld

hello newbie here..

i’m looking to purchase a 48v 100ah server rack. i live in a 94 bounder with electric/gas hot water tank with washing machine and a growatt 3000 split phase done a little research on batteries that work well. just curious if anyone knows the best server rack that gives best bang for your buck in an off grid living situation.

i’m kinda hoping to get an SOK battery but would like to not pay more than 2000$ CAD.
as i like that the SOK is serviceable. if anyone knows any batteries that have similar qualities to the SOK i’d really
like it to be serviceable and have close circuit communication with growatt 3000 thx. like the RUXIO or AHlithium or EG4 please advise. i’m trying to look on different sites for the best sale/deal. but everything seems quite expensive. please give any advice on your recommendations thanks again!

i also heard somewhere that 1 48v 100ah server rack battery can run a splitphase inverter for 1 day then it needs recharging given only using appliances in a normal fashion would like to know if that is true. and if i should buy two server rack bats. thanks

Last edited:
you need to calculate your power usage to determine whether this setup is sufficient. "Using appliances in a normal fashion" is simply not precise enough my friend.

48v 100ah gives you, well, at most 4800 Wh. Not much to run an electric dryer or water heater but would run a small fridge (lets assume 150W) for 4800 / 150 = XXX hrs. This is assuming the fridge runs constantly, which is usually not the case.

There is a small device called Killawatt that may help you get started if you are unable to make your own estimates.

okay i will definetly get that