diy solar

diy solar

hybrid inverter,solar panels and battery

ddaky

hello...total beginner here...im learning and looking to start buyng equipment for my solar project
for start i will go with probably this inverte
and today i was looking in to batterys that is cells 21700 i can get them for 2,70$ new 4000mah samsung and was thinking to build 14s5-7p is this good idea?
are thay any good for battery packs and will they work good with this inverter...this is all for start later i can take more of theese batterys
thanks

Attachments

• hibrid.JPG
    hibrid.JPG
    139.1 KB · Views: 6
Well, some notes and personal opinions:
1. That inverter has a fairly high input voltage for the solar panels. If you want to start small, I'm not sure that's the right choice.
You will need around 8 to 10 fairly large panels (200-300w and up, each) in series to reach that PV voltage.

2. Same goes for the battery voltage. 48v is great, but you will need some higher end components to make it safe (class T fuse, DC breakers that can handle 48v, etc...). 48v is also pretty dangerous, at least for beginners.
Also, you would need alot of cells.

3. As for the battery, I personally would NOT go with Lithium-Ion (NCM, NCA etc chemistry). Lifepo4 is alot safer. With Lithium ion, one mistake and you can find yourself burning your house down.
Also, I don't like using these cells because they need to be spot-welded, unless you have a pre-made fixture for them (like JAG35 makes).

You didn't mention your power requirements or needs, but if this just for learning solar power, I would start small:

Inverter: Either 12v or 24v inverter, with max PV voltage of 145v (Check out Growatt or MPP Solar 2424).

Battery: 12v or 24v Lifepo4, according to the inverter you got. It could be pre-made or DIY.
If you go DIY, I would get some small prismatic cells, depending on your needs.
Don't forget you will need a BMS too.