diy solar

diy solar

I have no experience and don't know where to start. I would like to do a full off grid system.

I am not sure where 240v came into play here?
Curious what you would consider bringing into play to run a house and a large garage/workshop. 208/3-phase? The problem is, most commonly available high draw electrical devices are 240v: hwh, hvac, dryer, range, ... Devices that will run at 120/240 (pool pump, well pump, power supplies ...) are generally more efficient at 240v as well. I have a small rack of computer gear here, which is all 240v capable, it's on my agenda to move it to a 240v circuit.

Sol-ark has a 60k but it's for 480V 3 phase
The EG4 / 1812 manual says you can stack up to 10 to get to 120KW. That would be 500A/240V, s 8 would get you to 400A. You'd probably have to carpet a square mile of property with solar panels and find a place to put in 8-16 racks of batteries, but you could do it. Generally the battery is about time, but if you are actually going to get a 400A demand, your going to need significant engineering, as you may need to draw around 2000A/50v from your batteries at any given point. I'd probably pair/quad independent battery sets bused to inverter's in pairs. It would be fun to build out. The problem with the EG4's is if you lose an inverter the whole system shuts down. Anybody have any experience with parallel Sol-Ark or other brands that don't fall over if you shut one off?

The EG4 / 1812 manual says you can stack up to 10 to get to 120KW. That would be 500A/240V, s 8 would get you to 400A. You'd probably have to carpet a square mile of property with solar panels and find a place to put in 8-16 racks of batteries, but you could do it. Generally the battery is about time, but if you are actually going to get a 400A demand, your going to need significant engineering, as you may need to draw around 2000A/50v from your batteries at any given point.