diy solar

diy solar

I have no experience and don't know where to start. I would like to do a full off grid system.

Wrivera

Hello,

I have no experience, and my only knowledge of solar is watching some videos. And found this forum which seems like there are many very helpful people here.

I am currently in the process of building a large garage (2,000SF) in which I will have a full bathroom and I plan on conditioning a portion of it for temporary living while I build a small house for my family.

With that said I will also need enough power for the house as well in the future. I am very open to suggestions on how to accomplish all this but I will explain what I would like to do.

I am hoping to have at least 100 amps for the garage and run a 200 amp sub panel to the house once it is built. The garage will be where the inverters and batteries are located.

Few questions:
  • Is it possible to produce 300-400amps of power by a fully off grid system?
  • If so, is it feasible on a reasonable budget?
  • What are some good first steps to achieving what I am looking for?
Thanks in advance!

Anything is possible with enough money. For that much power I would look into Sol-Ark inverter/chargers. You can get panels from santan solar in Arizona for less than 50 cents a watt. What us going to be important is how much of that power will you be using for a prolonged period dobyou need 400 amps at how many volts for how long. That's what is going to tell you what you really need.what are you using all that power for?

First off is to understand it is loads that drive the supply. Loads are rated in watts and watts over time (hour) is watt-hours or kWh if 1000wh.
Watts = Volts X Amps
So you will not be designing for amps but watt-hours.