diy solar

diy solar

I'm an old koot

singing_falls

So, I'm a crusty old Nam vet living on our private holding in Umpqua National Forest. We lived off grid for decade in Montana and now live where we are. We heated most of our water and met our electrical needs with solar starting around 1985. My solar panels are fried since they are so old. We had a couple of 116 F days and they just couldn't handle it anymore. We're on the grid now but the power goes out every year. We're on the bottom of the food chain when it comes to power company equipment. Plus we have old growth trees whacking the primaries of the area all the time. That said I'm an ARES radio operator and on the volunteer fire dept. We are mandated to have power when the system goes down. Besides, I just like the idea of being independent to a degree. ;) No problem with solar exposure at all.
I wanted to connect with homesteaders to find out the best way to go. I hate to say it but after 50 years of homesteading my capacity to DYI is on the sketchy zone. Not saying I'm writing it off. Just saying that it's pushing the envelope for a 77 year old if you get my drift.
My wants are with this:
REC/Panasonic panels. LiFePO4 for batteries. Grid interface. Inverter. etc. You know the drill. Current power bill is around 85/month.
Ideas and suggestions are welcome.