diy solar

diy solar

Inverter for induction appliances

• Thread starter Deleted member 5112
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 5112

Hi there, I've recently started the research phase for a solar-powered Tiny House and it's all going well so far. However, while looking at the inverters linked below, I came across the following information which has confused me. They state that for inductive appliances (fridge, AC, washer, microwave, etc...) the inverter would require 3-7 times the rated power of the appliance. The second link even mentions that, for fridges, you should have 10 times the rated power! I'm no electrician but this seems astronomical to me and very budget unfriendly. On every post/video that I've come across, it seems as though everyone is ignoring this as they have not sized their systems to allow for 3-10 times the power of their inductive load.
I've estimated an average max load of 1700Wh under the scenario where all of the following are on at the same time, which would not occur very often:
  • Window AC 714w
  • *Fridge [300w always on, but cycles]
  • *Security cameras [26w always on]
  • Lights (indoor and outdoor)
  • TV
  • Video game console
  • Laptop, Tablet, Phone (charging)
  • *Router [7w always on]
  • *Modem [7w always on]
  • Water pump
*Total always on = 340w when the fridge is active.

I am also considering the following appliances but I would turn off almost everything else when running these for short periods:
  • Microwave 1000w
  • Toaster 850w
  • Blender 500w
  • Washer 800w
  • Dryer 1500w
  • Clothes Iron 1200w
If necessary, I could do without the dryer and the clothes iron. So the extreme example here would be the microwave of 1000w and the fridge of 300w plus the additional 40w of always-on devices. If I take the suggestion of having 10 times the power for the fridge and 3-7 times the power for the microwave then I would need an inverter capable of 6,040-10,040w!