diy solar

diy solar

Is it okay to charge a battery with (much) lower current than recommended?

tomashubelbauer

Hey folks, I was recommended to repost my question from https://diysolarforum.com/threads/i...ith-much-lower-current-than-recommended.50780 here:

Long story short, I am a complete novice and I happen to have a 13.6-14.7 V / 1 A charger meant for gel batteries at hand and I also have a new SOK battery, this one:

Its spec say it needs 14.4-14.6 V / recommended 40 A to charge. My charger I guess is compatible voltage-wise, but the current is super low. My question is, is this only affect the charge time (even if significantly) or could it damage the battery?

The battery came almost discharged (it seems) but I won't be able to tell for sure until I cycle it twice and the BMS synchronizes and shows the true SOC.

This is mostly me being curious, I don't have a proper charger now but I did order one because I will need it in the future anyway.

14.7 is a bit high but it will charge the battery fine. I would stop around 14.2-14.4
Could take 4 to 8 days to charge. Some chargers will time out and drop to float in 3 or 4 days. Keep an eye on it.

I agree with time2 roll about limiting the V to less than recommended. The issue is that at low charge rates, the V to SOC curve gets very steep as you approach full charge. As you approach 14V at slow charge rate, it takes very small increments of power to cause the V to rise. Your battery has 4 cells that are not perfectly matched and require an internal balancer of some sort (hopefully it has one) to keep their voltages close. That becomes a much harder task at very low charge rates because any cell(s) start to runaway as they approach full while others are still trying to reach that level.