diy solar

diy solar

Is my off-grid system safe?

lherman-cs

Hi all, this is my first time designing a solar off-grid system. I did a lot of research system and have sketched up my plan in DrawIO. Would greatly appreciate anyone to scrutinize the design! The design goal is to create a safe system and NEC 2017 code compliant.

solar.drawio.png

* I am especially shaky with grounding and lightning protection
* Do I need to have SPDs to protect my system from lightning surges? Isn't earth grounding supposed to solve this?
* In the design, I have ~125 feet grounding wire in the ground. I'm concerned that this is too long for a grounding wire that it becomes an ineffective lightning protection.
* Do I have to have a circuit breaker between solar panels and solar charge controller?

Great resources that helped me to get to this version:
* Awesome grounding docs from FilterGuy (thanks a lot!): https://diysolarforum.com/resources/grounding-made-simpler-part-1-ac-houshold-grounding.157/
* Amazing video about SPD fundamentals:
* Will's EG4 setup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzZR6SWonrY
* and many others...

My equipment spec sheets (attached for everybody convenience):
* Inverter: EG4 6500 EX-48
* Battery: EG4 Lifepower4 48v nominal @100ah
* Solar Panel: Ureco FAK445C8G

Attachments

• EG4 6.5 Spec Sheet-1.pdf
    416.5 KB · Views: 4
  • battery-eg4-spec-sheet.pdf
    5.4 MB · Views: 3
  • solar-module-ureco-fak445c8g-4.pdf
    2.4 MB · Views: 6
Welcome!

Looks like you've put a ton work into your design so far.

I saw a few things but only looked as far as the IMO's right before the inverters.
-I believe you'll need two IMO four poles at the array.
-I don't drive a ground rod at the array and like to use SPD before the wires get to any electronics.

Hopefully others will take a look and comment.

Nothing will completely protect from a direct lightning strike. Generally best to stick with a single ground rod unless something says two are needed.