diy solar

diy solar

Jackery 1000 for Trolling batteries

dochooter

Valparaiso, Indiana, United lake shafferStates
Hello. Total newbie. I just bought Jackery 1000 Explorer and matching 100 watt panel. Ideally, would like to run solar panel-jackery-three bank on board charger-3 on board boat batteries.

I have a couple of concerns. First is pass thro charge. Would like leave all set up and running. ie, solar panel up and jackery connected to on board charger. Jackery says could be bad for the Jackery?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Hello. Total newbie. I just bought Jackery 1000 Explorer and matching 100 watt panel. Ideally, would like to run solar panel-jackery-three bank on board charger-3 on board boat batteries.

I have a couple of concerns. First is pass thro charge. Would like leave all set up and running. ie, solar panel up and jackery connected to on board charger. Jackery says could be bad for the Jackery?

Thanks in advance.

It is really the wrong device for what you are doing.

I would take it back and start over after some research.

@HarryN gave good advice. It’sa bad idea to run an AC charger from something like a Jackery or inverter.

What you want is simpler:

Solar panels
Solar Charge Controller (SCC)

Hook the charge controller up to your three battery bank, change the settings appropriate for your batteries, then connect the charge controller to the panels. That’s it. You can leave it that way indefinitely. Or you can use something like Anderson connectors for quick disconnect. Or XT connectors would work too.