diy solar

diy solar

JBD BMS turned off and will not come back on.

IGTP

Equipment--
Two MppSolar LV6048, JBD BMS AP20S003-L20S-200A-B-U, 16 280AH Lifepo cells, 36 "Super El-Cheapo" 240W used panels from SanTan Solar. The panels are configured in 4 groups (1 for each solar controller input). 3 panels in series with 3 of those strings in parallel (adds up to around 100VOC and around 25A max per group. All equipment (except panels) are kept in climate controlled conditions.

Long story short--
I've been gathering and assembling this equipment for 2 years or so with "Life" interrupting numerous times, so the equipment is new (except panels), but dated. I've learned much lurking here for those years.

Short story long--
I finally got everything together and fired it up. Ran equipment with moderate loads for 48 hours, monitored with Watchpower and saw no glaring issues.

This morning (Oct 25, 2023), had a look at the BMS using the Overkill app. Every thing looked fine except "Total Battery Capacity" was set to 50000ma. Decided to raise that in small increments on the way to 280000, so I started by setting it to 100000ma.

Immediately after tapping "BMS write" the contactor began clicking on and off. I let it continue for a few seconds since it is not unusual for this equipment to make a few clicking noises when a change is made. I soon set the Battery Capacity back to 50000ma and the clicking stopped. Unfortunately, it stopped in the OFF position and, after many hours scouring these forums and all other web sources I can find, I have been unable to turn it back on. The BMS is still alive. I can view and change settings via the Overkill app.

I disconnected the cell monitor connectors and let the BMS sit without power for 30 minutes. Reconnected the plugs and I was greeted by a few beeps, but still no contactor action.