diy solar

diy solar

LiBIM and DC to DC converter?

wmsilva

I will be upgrading my house batteries from lead acid to LiFePo4. There is currently a BIM so I have bought a LiBIM to replace it. I like the idea of having the chassis batteries connected so they stay charged and I can connect them to jump start if ever necessary but I don't like the idea of my alternator running at near max output even for 15 min.
Sometimes I come up with what I think is a good solution for a problem but have doubts when I can't find where others have done it.... so I ask

Is it possible to add a 30 or 50 amp DC to DC converter inline with the LiBIM? If I cannot find a bidirectional DC to DC converter then could I use a busbar to put two converters in opposite directions?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Depending on your vehicle and the size of your battery bank direct alternator charging may be totally fine. I have a Ram Promaster and a 200ah lifepo4 battery and it works just fine. Normally the batteries see about 40 amps, the alternator is rated at 185A, I believe, so plenty of headroom. Of course your mileage may vary, but it could be worth visiting a vehicle specific forum and see if others have any experience.

I'm assuming that you want your solar system to maintain the starter battery?

If so one of the Renogy mppt/dc-dc chargers will provide that function, and perhaps other combo units will too.

You could also just get a high amp 3 way switch, one input, two outputs. The starter battery would be connected to the input, and the bim or libim connected to one output and a dc-dc charger to the other. When you're driving select the dc-dc when you're sitting select the li-bim. It's slightly inconvenient but pretty simple and effective.

Running two dc-dc converters doesn't seem like a good value, and doesn't let you "jumpstart" the vehicle.