diy solar

diy solar

Lifepo4 cold temp question

Gphoto125

I’m a newbie and confused re. temps below 32° . I just bought a Li time 12v100ah battery for my camper replacing an agm battery. I assumed (wrongly I think) that it was safe to keep connected to my solar controller year round. Then I read it could ruin Lifepo4 batteries in below 32° if left connected to panels and controller and that even if disconnected the battery could be ruined if left disconnected in temps below 32°. I’m thinking I should have ordered a battery that has the cold temp shutoff like the one by Li time that Will did a review(trolling battery) ? Thanks for any help with this !

I’m a newbie and confused re. temps below 32° . I just bought a Li time 12v100ah battery for my camper replacing an agm battery. I assumed (wrongly I think) that it was safe to keep connected to my solar controller year round. Then I read it could ruin Lifepo4 batteries in below 32° if left connected to panels and controller and that even if disconnected the battery could be ruined if left disconnected in temps below 32°. I’m thinking I should have ordered a battery that has the cold temp shutoff like the one by Li time that Will did a review(trolling battery) ? Thanks for any help with this !

If the battery doesn't have built-in low temperature charge protection AND/OR heating, YOU must provide alternate means of protection AND/OR heating.

Correct, if charged under a certain temp (most are 32f) you can damage the cells. If you are using it in a location where temps can dip that low it is recommended to use one with a bms that protects against charging when the cells are under 32f. That being said that is cell temps not air temps. Just because its 20 degs outside does not mean that your cells are actually at that temp they could be higher or lower and thats why its important to have the temp sensor in the battery itself.