diy solar

diy solar

Loaded question about inverters....

Scott Off Grid

Because I have no personal experience with inverters I thought I would pose the question, what are the pros and cons between the SOL-ARK 15K (3 in parallel) and the chinesium 6500 AIO (6 in parallel). PV and batteries will be the same and system will be off grid no grid tie. I am trying to decide which direction to go and it is a tough decision. Any advise will help with my decision.

Well, I have no direct interaction with Sol-Arks so I can only speak to what I have read and heard. I do have a pair of 6500s though which I can relate to. Off the top of my head…

Sol-Ark
Pros
  • The have a much larger capacitor bank inside them to help handle potential voltage swings
  • Seem to work natively with generators
  • You need less hardware for more output
  • Built in disconnects
  • Less wiring because I believe you can just wire them directly into your MSP without pushing power back to grid (I’m sure someone will correct me if I’m wrong)
  • 70w idle consumption (each inverter)
  • Up to 19kw PV (each inverter)
Cons
  • Pricey
  • Heavy
  • I believe even though they’re rated at 15k, there’s specific criteria that have to be met in order to get that for reading. I believe you can only get 15k of output with PV added in, otherwise you can output only 12k.
6500s
Pros
  • Cheaper
  • At night you can get more output power from 1 pair of 6500s that you can from 1 Sol-Ark (13kw vs 12kw)

Cons
  • Putting 6 in a pair would require a bit of wiring
  • Support is sometimes hard to get answers from
  • 80w+ idle consumption (each inverter)

Last edited:
Both are HF inverters. SolArk is a bit higher quality. It has a large bank of HV DC capacitors that allows for features not possible on 6500 units.

Main feature is load shaving which requires near immediate battery power flow direction shift from charging to AC output supplementing.