diy solar

diy solar

Marine "deep cycle" vs. golf cart or solar battery bank type batteries

oldryder

Rookie here. Presently researching batteries for battery bank. Local big box stores sell deep cycle batteries which i have used many years for trolling motors. I have always been impressed with the capacity of the batteries. These are flooded lead acid which seem the best value given I don't have an unlimited budget for this.

This installation is for back up power only so barring the end of civilization I am not expecting frequent charge/discharge cycles.

Wondering the difference in construction and/or chemistry that takes the "official" battery bank batteries 60 - 100% more expensive for a given capacity rating than the bog box store "marine deep cycle".

thanks to anyone taking the time to educate a rookie.

mark in mn

ps. if there is a good book that details the considerations for a charging system and battery bank I'd appreciate a reference. I am an engineer so it can be technical in depth. (Most of the stuff I find googling is very elementary.)

for my initial build I went with 4 FLA golf cart batteries to build a 200ah 24v bank. I don't plan to cycle them deep (20% or so) so they'll be a great reliable test system.

for large banks that will be cycled, only lifepo4 makes sense. ~300 usable AH's of lithium or lead acid would cost similar, but the lead acid would require maintenance, be super heavy, take up tons of space and charge slower.

lead acid needs to be fully charged every other day or so, lithium doesn't need full charges.

IMO if you're gonna build a system, you might as well use it. there's no ROI if you don't use it.

Wondering the difference in construction and/or chemistry that takes the "official" battery bank batteries 60 - 100% more expensive for a given capacity rating than the bog box store "marine deep cycle".