diy solar

diy solar

Mixing Monofacial and Bifacial panels in the same string...SS says don't.

dhy4buva

Has anyone tried mixing monofacial and bifacial panels in the same string? As a newb, I'm wondering if I've badly under-logic-ed this one. All I've seen online / on the forums about mixing panels is that 1) It's generally not advised 2) If you must do it, make sure the operating voltages and currents are close -- in my reading, mostly out of concern for efficiency, not necessarily major problems.

Background: I'm needing to add PV power to my system (EG4 6000ex) and the closest spec match to my existing 6s2p array of Aptos DNA-120-MF26-370W appears to be the Boviet 370W Bifacial BVM66100-370-HC-BF. The Aptos panels of the identical item number that I can purchase today are of a different spec for some reason and more expensive than the Boviets. So I bought the Boviets.

Aptos DNA-120-MF26-370W​
Boviet 370W Bifacial BVM66100-370-HC-BF​
Maximum Power Current (Imp)​
10.76 A​
10.96 A​
Maximum Power Voltage (Vmp)​
34.40 V​
33.81 V​
Short Circuit Current (Isc)​
11.29 A​
11.54 A​
Open Circuit Voltage (Voc)​
41.90 V​
40.56 V​
Bifacial Power Gain 10%​
N/A​
407 W​
Bifacial Power Gain 20%​
N/A​
444 W​