diy solar

diy solar

My lightweight portable power station build

NCblueridge

I am building a small portable power station that will be used as a power source for my kayak's trolling motor and fish finder as well as a small backup system for power outages.

For my kayak uses, this will plug into a single outlet on my Slayer Propel 10 kayak and suppy power for a 12 volt, 30 amp trolling motor (Newport Vessels 36lb. thrust Kayak Series), a low power GPS/sonar unit (Dragonfly 5) some USB convenience connections I am adding to the kayak in conjunction with this project. I will probably do a post or two about that in this thread also.

For power failure situations, my primary needs are USB charging for my laptop, phone and iPad (I am a career long web developer and manage 19 individual data driven dynamic websites so access is critical), DC power for my fiber modem and router (both adapted to allow direct DC inputse) and power for a couple of DC fans and LED lighting. I also have a small external 750 watt inverter that will plug into the unit should that be necessary.

Charging sources for this station will consist of a Victron Bluesmart 12V/17Amp AC unit for regular use and (2) portable 100 Watt mono panels (or optionally (4) portable/stationary 100 Watt panels in a 2P/2S configuration ) with a small Victron 100/20A MPPT charge control which could possibly be integrated into the pack also.