diy solar

diy solar

Negotiating with Chinese vendors

While I'm still a bit of a novice in the world of Alibaba, I've now got 6 orders under my belt (over 100kWh total) so I've got a little bit of experience now.
One thing that really surprises me is how little room for negotiation there generally seems to be. I try every time after I receive a price, but a lot of the time, I'm just managing 5% off or so. Sometimes even 0%.
In the beginning, I was getting higher prices, so getting discounts were obviously easier to get, but since I've started speaking the lingo, their offer price and the sale price tend to be pretty close.

It surprised me because in much of my experience in Asia, haggling was a must, including in China (from memory, it's a few years ago that I went).

Am I doing it wrong?

What are your experiences?

There are enough online retailers that we can shop for the best price without talking to anyone. A high price on a website means they're not likely to get any interest.

While I'm still a bit of a novice in the world of Alibaba, I've now got 6 orders under my belt (over 100kWh total) so I've got a little bit of experience now.
One thing that really surprises me is how little room for negotiation there generally seems to be. I try every time after I receive a price, but a lot of the time, I'm just managing 5% off or so. Sometimes even 0%.
In the beginning, I was getting higher prices, so getting discounts were obviously easier to get, but since I've started speaking the lingo, their offer price and the sale price tend to be pretty close.

It surprised me because in much of my experience in Asia, haggling was a must, including in China (from memory, it's a few years ago that I went).

Am I doing it wrong?

What are your experiences?