diy solar

diy solar

New Home Construction and System help

bave

Hi everyone,

I looked and not sure where to start with this as a total newbie in this arena.

I am in middle TN and building a new home and considering a PV system. A friend of mine recently had a large system (~40 panels + 4 tesla powerwalls) installed and it was about 100k. Not looking to spend that much and not sure why it would cost that much from my reading but here are my thoughts.

I don't want to do a roof mount because of both aesthetics and paranoia about poking holes in my roof. I have plenty of room so I can do a ground mounted rack or ballast system. Would like a system that would largely power a 5k heated foot house and possibly an EV in an efficient manner. My electricity price is about .14/kwh. Home will have nat-gas dual fuel systems as primary heat with electric floor element heating in about 1k of the main floor area as well. Would like to have a battery system as well for backup.

So my questions....
1) Is it reasonable to be able to hire someone to do the work while procuring the bulk of your own equipment? Or will installers insist on providing the equipment so they can mark it up and make money on that side as well? Any particular method for finding reputable installers?

2) How far can the PV array be from the home without significant issues? Would like to have the array at least 200' from the back of the home.

3) Batteries. I see a lot of people using these ~$1300 rack mounted batteries. Why would anyone use a branded pre-built battery system like powerwall over those? The price difference seems huge.

4) Grid tie or no. TN has a pretty bad policy related to selling power back to the utility it seems. Looks like the TVA pays something like .03-.04/kwh for excess production which is why I would prefer to operate primarily on my own battery system to consume first and then supplement as needed from grid draw. How does that change the system design/hardware needs?