diy solar

diy solar

New member / New build coming up!

KS_Kampers

Hello all. Found this forum after stumbling on Will's youtube channel. Currently planning a DC system upgrade for my new-to-me Grand Design 268BH and thought I would start to talk out a plan.

My new 5th wheel has the horrendous Schwintek slide controller on it, and DC voltage brown out is not tolerated. We boondock exclusively for up to 2 weeks at a time.

Our previous trailer was a bit smaller in terms of electrical load, and we used two golf cart acid batteries, a SunSaver MPPT, and a 200W panel. This worked surprisingly well for us, in spite of (or perhaps due to?) its simplicity.

I'm sort of SWAG'ing my anticipated needs, and upsizing a bit for margin. I'm moving to LiPO for the first time, and have zero experience with that. I do have a EE background and used to support BMS systems for satellites, so I'm not a complete noob. BUT this was years ago, and I don't have a feel for the BMS stuff in today's consumer level batteries.

We won't be using any inverters in our application. Only DC for lights, water pump, heater, fridge condenser fan, bath fans, USB stuff, and the evil Schwintek slide system.

Based purely on empirical and gut feel guidance (power use survey impossible to do without actual use of the camper), I am going to proceed with the following. My plan is to install the batteries / shunt / MPPT controller behind the false wall in the pass through, and bring a power cable to the front factory installed bus bar.

Li Time 100aH trolling motor batteries x 3
Charge status shunt monitor w/ bluetooth connectivity (vendor TBD)
50-ish Amp MPPT solar charger (vendor TBD)
200W solar suitcase panels x2 (vendor TBD)
And of course a laundry list of disconnects / breaker / bus bar / etc.

I'm browsing this site like crazy. I will undoubtedly have lots of LiPO questions.

Nice to meet you.

Frank

PS... see the TBD stuff above? feel free to send suggestions. Money IS an object. :)

Welcome aboard.