diy solar

diy solar

New System Build

RoySalisbury

First, a little background. I currently have an off-grid solar setup that I have been running for about 10 years. It consists of the following:

* Outback Power inverter (24v/3kw),
* 4 Outback charge controllers (due to differing strings and sizes),
* 6 - 210w, 6 - 320w and 12 - 330w panels.
* 16 - 6v/400a AGM batteries. (About 4 years old, usually ran to 75% DOD daily, never past 65% before generator kick in).

I'm now in a position that I need more power at night and to do that I need a larger bank. But these batteries are just too old to add more. And I would also like to go to a 48v system that can do 220v AC split phase.

So I have decided to build out an entirely new system and then either keep the existing hardware or sell it on ebay. The panels are good enough to move over to the new system (mostly).

So, that out of the way, I have been reading up on the latest solar systems that have came out and whats available. Also the battery tech is MUCH better than my AGM's. I plan on going for the LiFePO4 battery banks, but there are a few rack mounted systems that all "basically" provide the same thing.

Q: Are these rack mounted banks (EG4, SOC, etc) basically just using the same cells and BMS and are just selling a warranty of different kinds? Why would I choose one over the other? The price difference for 48v/5k bank is about the same for all of them.

Then comes the inverter. These seem to now come with charge controllers internal to them (vs the older Outback that I have). As stated, I'm looking to go for a 48v inverter this time and 240v split phase. My choices come down to the MPP LV6048 or the Growatt 6kw.