New Victron Multiplus-II 12/3000/120-50 designed specifically for RVs with 30A/50A input flexibility available MARCH 2021

Jennifer

Electricity kills, think twice before acting.
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
386
Ours fifth wheel has been in a repair shop waiting on parts since June 25th. Right now I’d be thrilled to have it by the end of September especially since it is our home.
I'm in a Keystone Fuzion as well... do you mind me asking what part you're waiting for this long?
 

InMyImage

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
110
I'm living in my fifth wheel as well so I can understand the frustration. I hope you can get it back on the road soon! Good that you have a place to stay but will be so nice to have your home back! Especially with solar :)
Thanks,silver lining is that I might learn some tips and tricks from you when you start your install. Planning to do a build thread?
 

InMyImage

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
110
I'm in a Keystone Fuzion as well... do you mind me asking what part you're waiting for this long?
Variety. A tree decided it wanted our mid-bunk and pulled it halfway out of the wall.If the shop doesn’t get them soon I’m going to get a list of everything they are waiting on and start cold calling dealerships until I find everything myself. Plus my daughter’s place is only about 90 minutes South of Jayco so I might just go sit in their corporate office until they sell me the parts directly.
 

Jennifer

Electricity kills, think twice before acting.
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
386
Whew... yea that close to Jayco that would be a good idea...that's unacceptable to make you wait that long.
 

Firstascent

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
154
Thanks,silver lining is that I might learn some tips and tricks from you when you start your install. Planning to do a build thread?
I most definitely am, I'll have some fun custom parts to it as well :) I now have pretty much all the main components, need to order a little wire, build a battery compression case, decide how I want to mount the solar panels (exact position has been decided, but I want tilt function), then I think I'll be ready to begin.

and wow, I typically like trees but that was not nice of him at all haha. I like the idea of stalk...sitting in the office until you get what you need.
 

DIDDLYV

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
91
I most definitely am, I'll have some fun custom parts to it as well :) I now have pretty much all the main components, need to order a little wire, build a battery compression case, decide how I want to mount the solar panels (exact position has been decided, but I want tilt function), then I think I'll be ready to begin.

and wow, I typically like trees but that was not nice of him at all haha. I like the idea of stalk...sitting in the office until you get what you need.
keep us posted, I am in approximately the same place you are. Have gathered most of what I need the 4 hightec 210 watt panels have shipped. Have the strut channel SCCs Battery Cells BMS most of rest is on its way from amazon. Still need to figure out where to put Multiplus II and the batteries everything else follows from there. I too must build what ever to compress battery cells and mount them in the Elkridge E-292
 

InMyImage

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
110
I most definitely am, I'll have some fun custom parts to it as well :) I now have pretty much all the main components, need to order a little wire, build a battery compression case, decide how I want to mount the solar panels (exact position has been decided, but I want tilt function), then I think I'll be ready to begin.

and wow, I typically like trees but that was not nice of him at all haha. I like the idea of stalk...sitting in the office until you get what you need.
I got tool boxes and used the shipping foam for my Lishen 272ah cells to pack them firmly in place.
 

Firstascent

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
154
keep us posted, I am in approximately the same place you are. Have gathered most of what I need the 4 hightec 210 watt panels have shipped. Have the strut channel SCCs Battery Cells BMS most of rest is on its way from amazon. Still need to figure out where to put Multiplus II and the batteries everything else follows from there. I too must build what ever to compress battery cells and mount them in the Elkridge E-292
I will! and Yes I as well need to determine final location. I'm almost certain I'm going to put it in the front bay near the generator and rip the existing lead acid/agm or whatever batteries out of there. All of mine going in a Momentum 381M.

I got tool boxes and used the shipping foam for my Lishen 272ah cells to pack them firmly in place.
good thinking, and free padding too! haha
 

HRTKD

Boondocker
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
6,474
Location
Somewhere South of Denver
I need help with how to install the ground in a 50 amp RV for the MultiPlus-II 12/3000 2x 120V. The Victron manual says this:

• In a mobile installation (for example, with a shore current plug), interrupting the shore connection will simultaneously disconnect the grounding connection. In that case, the casing must be connected to the chassis (of the vehicle) or to the hull or grounding plate (of the boat).

I'm helping someone do this install and I'm concerned that he isn't doing it right. His only ground at this time is the one coming from the ATS. My take is that the ATS ground is only active (effective?) when on shore power. I don't see anywhere in the Victron manual where there is a separate ground screw (on the case) like I have on my Victron MPPT devices.

How have you handled the ground?
 

KenB

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
5
Location
USA
I need help with how to install the ground in a 50 amp RV for the MultiPlus-II 12/3000 2x 120V. The Victron manual says this:

• In a mobile installation (for example, with a shore current plug), interrupting the shore connection will simultaneously disconnect the grounding connection. In that case, the casing must be connected to the chassis (of the vehicle) or to the hull or grounding plate (of the boat).

I'm helping someone do this install and I'm concerned that he isn't doing it right. His only ground at this time is the one coming from the ATS. My take is that the ATS ground is only active (effective?) when on shore power. I don't see anywhere in the Victron manual where there is a separate ground screw (on the case) like I have on my Victron MPPT devices.

How have you handled the ground?
If you are looking for the ground on MultiPlus-II 12|3000|120-50 2x120V, there is one near all the connections. On the figure in Appendix A, on page 26 of the MultiPlus-II 12|3000|120-50 2x120V manual an arrow points to item "E" and below in the description it states "Primary ground connection (PE) - M8 bolt.


Appendix A.png
 

TAS CPA

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 16, 2021
Messages
92
I need help with how to install the ground in a 50 amp RV for the MultiPlus-II 12/3000 2x 120V. The Victron manual says this:

• In a mobile installation (for example, with a shore current plug), interrupting the shore connection will simultaneously disconnect the grounding connection. In that case, the casing must be connected to the chassis (of the vehicle) or to the hull or grounding plate (of the boat).

I'm helping someone do this install and I'm concerned that he isn't doing it right. His only ground at this time is the one coming from the ATS. My take is that the ATS ground is only active (effective?) when on shore power. I don't see anywhere in the Victron manual where there is a separate ground screw (on the case) like I have on my Victron MPPT devices.

How have you handled the ground?
See KenB's image. "E" to the chassis/ground.
 

HRTKD

Boondocker
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
6,474
Location
Somewhere South of Denver
One more question. Using the PC based configuration tool we need to set the phase and then the L2 option. I think the phase is set right, but the L2 options have me stumped. It was tested in "Single phase" mode and it worked well when using a generator. He has yet to connect to actual shore power and I have pointed out that the test of the install isn't complete until that happens.

1634617505990.png
 

cinergi

1.21 Jigawatts
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
1,165
One more question. Using the PC based configuration tool we need to set the phase and then the L2 option. I think the phase is set right, but the L2 options have me stumped. It was tested in "Single phase" mode and it worked well when using a generator. He has yet to connect to actual shore power and I have pointed out that the test of the install isn't complete until that happens.

View attachment 69386

Generally in North America you'd want Dual phase 180, not 120 (that's the degrees out of phase, not the voltage).

As for the L2 options, I'm not familiar with those but it probably relates to how to handle when shore power is NOT 180 degrees out of phase. Are you unable to use Victron Connect to configure this unit? Much better interface (it replaces VE.Bus System Configurator).
 

HRTKD

Boondocker
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
6,474
Location
Somewhere South of Denver
Generally in North America you'd want Dual phase 180, not 120 (that's the degrees out of phase, not the voltage).

As for the L2 options, I'm not familiar with those but it probably relates to how to handle when shore power is NOT 180 degrees out of phase. Are you unable to use Victron Connect to configure this unit? Much better interface (it replaces VE.Bus System Configurator).

I would not have suspected 180 to be the setting to use. Huh. He doesn't have the Bluetooth adapter yet, only the USB adapter is available at this time. I thought the USB and PC application had more options to configure than the app through Bluetooth. He does have the Bluetooth adapter on order.
 

cinergi

1.21 Jigawatts
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
1,165
I would not have suspected 180 to be the setting to use. Huh. He doesn't have the Bluetooth adapter yet, only the USB adapter is available at this time. I thought the USB and PC application had more options to configure than the app through Bluetooth. He does have the Bluetooth adapter on order.

Yup 180 degrees out of phase.

Victron Connect works through the MK3 as well. Either PC or Android. They've been expanding Victron Connect capabilities and it can handle split-phase inverter configurations now.
 

sparklehunt

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
29
I'm a bit confused to the purpose of the unit.

from the SPS site, are 50a RV electricals normally wired with a Main and Sub panel? So the 'main' loads are not available when off-grid?
1638487138425.png
Also confused to when you need 50a,120/240.When do you actually exceed a 120v/30a service, that's ~3600W! Seems like a lot.

do 50a RVs have 240V appliances that are intended to be used with a 50a, 120/240 split phase external connection?
 

Firstascent

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
154
I'm a bit confused to the purpose of the unit.

from the SPS site, are 50a RV electricals normally wired with a Main and Sub panel? So the 'main' loads are not available when off-grid?
View attachment 74248
Also confused to when you need 50a,120/240.When do you actually exceed a 120v/30a service, that's ~3600W! Seems like a lot.

do 50a RVs have 240V appliances that are intended to be used with a 50a, 120/240 split phase external connection?
Pretty easy to go over 30A, simply run two A\C units. My fifth wheel has 3 A/C units :)

Also, it’s still always 120V. For simplistic terms, think of it as two hot (120v) legs. That’s where the 240 comes from but it’s still just 120v.
(There’s actually 4 wires instead of 3 like you would see on a standard cable you plug into your wall outlet at home)
 

sparklehunt

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
29
Pretty easy to go over 30A, simply run two A\C units. My fifth wheel has 3 A/C units :)

Also, it’s still always 120V. For simplistic terms, think of it as two hot (120v) legs. That’s where the 240 comes from but it’s still just 120v.
(There’s actually 4 wires instead of 3 like you would see on a standard cable you plug into your wall outlet at home)
three A/C units! Ok now makes sense. Would probably not need this for a van build then.

I understand the part about the 4 wires, the receptacle has L1, L2, N, and PE/gnd. Theoretically, you could run US 240v appliance off this if your rv had it. I was wondering if any RVs actually had them.

Next question: why don't RVers just install more solar and a bigger inverter then? Solar panels are cheap nowadays and you have the roof space. Difference between 3kw and 5kw is only ~$300 (edit: more like $700, still) and a ~13kWh batt is like ~$2000 with reputable Eve cells. I think @cinergi has such a system. Then you don't need to be tied to a plug and it should pay itself within a year or two?
 

HRTKD

Boondocker
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
6,474
Location
Somewhere South of Denver
Next question: why don't RVers just install more solar and a bigger inverter then? Solar panels are cheap nowadays and you have the roof space.

The roof of an RV is like an obstacle course. Vents, skylights, antennas, A/C unit, they're all over the place and in random positions. Trying to fit solar panels is like playing Tetris on level 10.
 
Top