diy solar

diy solar

Newcomer

Bigjayjay69

Hello all, I am new to setting up a complete off grid system, however i have been an electrician all of my adult life and have a good basic understanding of how solar power works and the basics of inverters, battery racks, series and parallel and such. i am trying to put together a 16KW PV using (44) 365W panels utilizing (4) strings of (11) panels , (4) EG-4 6.5KW inverters, and (6) EG-4 LifePower4 48V 5.12KWh batteries. i intend to have (2) inverters in parallel for each line of split phase 240V /120V Off grid system. Part of my concern is in the max PV input for the inverters as it is rated for 8000W max and has 2 possible inputs, 4000W/ 18A each. But since there will be the split phase in the configuration am i correct in believing i will be able to connect 2 strings to one side or leg and the other 2 strings to the other leg which will basically be connected in parallel with the second inverter on each side?

Thank you very much in advance for any advice anyone cane share...

Jason

It's better to think of the all-in-one inverter as having a separate charge controller and separate inverter inside them. The charge controllers are just PV solar battery chargers, charging on a common battery bank. The inverters are doing their own thing so there is no relationship (on the split-phase output) as to which PV inputs you are using to charge the battery bank with...

Ok, that makes sense, so then would it be best to run (2) strings to one inverter on line 1 side and other 2 strings to one inverter on line 2 side, or should one string go to each of the 4 inverters?

Ok, that makes sense, so then would it be best to run (2) strings to one inverter on line 1 side and other 2 strings to one inverter on line 2 side, or should one string go to each of the 4 inverters?