diy solar

diy solar

Off grid with hybrid

Pjw88

Hello im new to solar and have been doing as much learning as possible but I was wondering if someone could shed some light on a question. Currently I’m looking to develop an off grid system without net metering or export and exploring my options. Essentially while I’m interested in off grid options it seems hybrid systems offer more output/deatures in single units however often require supply/line taps or large backfed breakers. My main panel is 200amp which feeds a 100amp MLO subpanel. I believe the bus bar is 200amp rated. Is it possible to use a smaller 40amp breaker for back feed into the inverter which then would connect to the sub panel via transfer switch/interlock with the 100amp? I currently do not have a net metering contract and would be not interested in exporting to the grid.

The way the question is worded is not completely clear regarding terminology. Did you wish to use the Off-Grid Inverter to power both the main panel and the subpanel or only the subpanel? Seems kind of odd that a 100A panel would have 200A bus bars maybe a 125A bus bar.

Newer so called solar ready panels sometimes have 225A bus bars with a 200A main (or 125A bus with 100A main) so a larger grid-tie system can be connected per the 120% rule.

The way the question is worded is not completely clear regarding terminology. Did you wish to use the Off-Grid Inverter to power both the main panel and the subpanel or only the subpanel? Seems kind of odd that a 100A panel would have 200A bus bars maybe a 125A bus bar.

Newer so called solar ready panels sometimes have 225A bus bars with a 200A main (or 125A bus with 100A main) so a larger grid-tie system can be connected per the 120% rule.