diy solar

diy solar

Panel setup questions for MPP 3048 lv-mk split phase

koovoodoo

Newbie here and just asking to learn about panel setups.

I already purchased 2x MPP 3048 lv-mk with plans for split phase usage. I got 8 q cell g+ 380w ($170 per) panels with initial plans for 2s2p setup per. I would need to run 10gauge wires (2x about 70 feet) based on amps. Would you guys recommend me getting another panel then? Would it change much to setup as 1 inverter with 3s2p, and 1 inverter with just 3s? I would run it with 1 being 10awg and 1 being 12awg. Besides cost, which route would you recommend? Just trying to understand logic/efficiencies. Thanks!!!

Edit for panels specs:

PS. Shading is not an issue at all.

Last edited:
Just trying to understand logic/efficiencies
Don’t overthink it imho

What i would do is buy three more panels. Than you can 3S2P both and thwart the pesky cloudy days and Nov-March
Shading is not an issue at all
But is latitude or snow an issue?

Nobody ever says, “I sure wish I had less solar production.”

would run it with 1 being 10awg and 1 being 12awg
I overcable solar wire runs.
I would just use 10ga good quality solar wire if the sum amps < 30. The difference in cost between 12 and 10ga is what? About a pizza and a bottle of soda?

That’s how I think stuff through. Being cheap can get expensive in the end.

Don’t overthink it imho

What i would do is buy three more panels. Than you can 3S2P both and thwart the pesky cloudy days and Nov-March

But is latitude or snow an issue?

Nobody ever says, “I sure wish I had less solar production.”

I overcable solar wire runs.
I would just use 10ga good quality solar wire if the sum amps < 30. The difference in cost between 12 and 10ga is what? About a pizza and a bottle of soda?

That’s how I think stuff through. Being cheap can get expensive in the end.