diy solar

diy solar

Panel wiring

robstrom

Simple question, well 2.
While installing panels, the sun will be on them, hence, power.
I have no battery yet.
As long as I don't plug them in to the charge controller, no damage correct?
2. Can I put a multimeter on the connectors to confirm continuity/ output, without a battery?
Be safe n do it out of the sun?
Thanks

Simple question, well 2.
While installing panels, the sun will be on them, hence, power.
I have no battery yet.
As long as I don't plug them in to the charge controller, no damage correct?
2. Can I put a multimeter on the connectors to confirm continuity/ output, without a battery?
Be safe n do it out of the sun?
Thanks
Hello! I’m also new to solar and have been voraciously reading forums and watching videos. I feel I can answer this as I just did this with my first panel this morning :)

Yes, connecting your multimeter directly to the leads from the panel is appropriate. This measure is shown on your panel as Voc, or Voltage Open Circuit. This is considered “open” because it is not connected to anything. My 100w panel is rated at 22.6 Voc and in near direct sun it achieved 22.5V.

You are also correct about the solar charge controller, do not connect your panels to a SCC unless the batteries are already connected to the controller.

Hope this helps!

Attachments

• 011C2E3C-835E-49FE-863B-EF254CB5D241.jpeg
    011C2E3C-835E-49FE-863B-EF254CB5D241.jpeg
    174.8 KB · Views: 1
Silicon panels are ok in the sun with no load; some thin film panels like cadmium telluride panels are not.