diy solar

diy solar

Planning a skoolie build using MPP LV6548V—wiring help

Willardjwilliams

Hi, hoping someone can give me a wiring diagram from shore power 50AMP RV INLET, to breaker box, to LV, to one 48v 280AH battery. I will have panels, most likely 8 @ 400-550w panels. In the future I plan on adding a second 48v battery in parallel. I’ve wired a 12v system before from Renogy using 2 parallel Rover100’s, 3000w inverter, and parallel battery bank, so I have a basic understanding. I’m new to this all-in-one kit and don’t want to get it wrong. For instance, I’m assuming I need two ACbreaker boxes? One for AC in and one for AC out? Can the LV6548v accommodate an AC IN of 50AMPS? greatly appreciate any and all help!

No need for 2 breaker boxes. I did my truck camper with a GW 3000W LVM, you can read about it here. https://diysolarforum.com/threads/heres-my-truck-camper-setup.29488/

The current breaker box can be powered thru the LV6548 output if you tie both L1 and L2 together at the breaker panel or inverter output. The input of the LV6548 should be powered by the shore connection. The LV6548 has a built in transfer switch so on shore power it will switch the transfer switch to shore power, charge your battery and power loads.

The only problem will be the 50A shore power. A 50A RV shore power is 2 120V legs. I have a 30A RV plug and it works fine with a 120V inverter. With the 50A, you basically have 240V between legs so you can not run both legs into the inverter input. You could use a second inverter or the other choice is only use one leg of a 50A RV cord and tape the other leg off or disconnect. Personally, I'd just buy a 30A RV cord if you plan on only using 1 inverter. If you installed 2 inverters, then you can have L1 to one inverter and L2 to the other inverter and set the inverters up for 240V split phase while leaving the breaker panel wired as it currently is.