diy solar

diy solar

Purchased Undersized Chargery 100A BMS, but is there a solution to wire in series?

myles

Autonomy Expert
Hey Guys, i am still learning GOBS of information, and i'll be making videos when all is said and done so people don't make the same mistakes i do.

#1 DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING, until you have a full GRASP of what each product is doing and its purpose!

Can you help me possible solve this one?

I have 3 battery packs that i'll be wiring in a 16s3p configuration. they are 3.2v 280AH cells for Amy. Matched.

I bought 4 Chargery BMS (with the intent of possibly adding a 4th pack of cells, i have 68 cells total purchased. But i made the mistake and bought the 100A version, when in hind sight i should have bought the 300A minimum for my application, since this will be powering a complete house overnight, sometimes with A/C minisplit running etc.

IS there a way to wire bms in series so that i can make 3 bms into a 300 amp? I talked to jason at chargery and its not as simple as just changing shunts, the 100a, 300a, 600a are all different internally as well.

If i have to purchase a new BMS, that is understandable, and i wouldn't be opposed to that because the more i read and use the chargery, the less I enjoy it, although it does work totally fine, i am only using it right now for top balancing to get used to it. these packs are not in service yet.

In most cases, each BMS is capable of 100A, so your 3 batteries in parallel can do 100A each for a theoretical 300A. I say theoretical because you likely won't have perfectly balanced load sharing between the 3 batteries. I would hope 14kW of power is enough to meet your loads.

It's not clear to me which Chargery you have or how it's able to protect the battery. Do you have a set of relays for each battery?