diy solar

diy solar

Renogy 3000w inverter charging voltage spikes

swest99

Hey Everyone!

I'm new to solar but did lots of research before attempting to setup my own system.
My current setup:
1. 3000w Renogy inverter/charger
2. 60 amp Renogy Rover MPPT
3. 800w solar (not currently hooked up)
4. Two sok 206 ah lithium batteries in parallel

I've set my inverter to charge the batteries according to Renogy and the SOK recommendations.
Charge voltage: 14.6v
Float voltage: 13.6v
Reconnect voltage 12v (thats the lowest the inverter will go)
Cut off voltage: 11.2v

I currently am using a 15 amp to 30 amp conversion cord, and I've set the incoming amperage to 15 amps.
My system has mainly 12v (lights, outlets, hw heater ignition, stove ignition, fans) with the exception of about eight 120v outlets used for a fridge and other basic appliances.
When the system isn't utilizing the charger function on the inverter, it works well. As soon as I try to charge the batteries using the incoming shore power, the voltage/amperage jumps sporadically. So much so, that I will get overcharge cutoff or fault codes.

What's the potential reason for voltage spikes? Could it be the inverter, the batteries, or both? I'm wondering if perhaps the batteries and inverter aren't synced properly... maybe the inverter is getting bad information about the batteries soc causing it to have this issue.
Any input is welcome!

You may drop the incoming amps to 12 amps.

There's an 80% rule where you shouldn't be pushing more than 12 amps for extended periods. 15 amps for a short time is OK. 12 amps is around 1400 watts and 15 amps around 1800 watts.

I'm not sure how you have the 15 amp wired, too small a wire and there could be voltage loss, especially if a longer run.
========
You could take voltage readings at different points along the circuit and find out if there's any loss. There will be some, but something excessive is what you're looking for.
========