diy solar

diy solar

Safety check on van electrical diagram (6kw 24v battery + 1.2kw solar + 3kw AC + noob)

DanTheEnergyMan

Hi everyone ?

I've been working on an electrical diagram for my van, and all the parts have arrived; now I'm just after a quick safety check since I'm a total noob and don't want to blow myself up.
  • Solar: 1.2kW (3x400w panels in parallel)
    • 70v Voc; 6.5A Isc;
    • Apparently no need for individual fusing in Australia because (number of panels - 1 * Isc) < 20A (max series fuse) for these panels, so 3 in parallel is okay. They're in parallel because solar charge controllers get expensive higher than 70Voc.
    • Charge controller is a 100v-50A Victron MPPT - so should be maxed out by the panels during the day in "sunny hot australia".
  • Battery: 6kWh of LiFePo4 cells at 24v (8S configuration) (cells from Amy - Shenzhen Luyan)
    • BMS is a Electrodacus SBMS0; no MOSFETS. Excited to try this out, I don't see many people using it.
  • Inverter: 3kW Multiplus II for AC; 70A charging
  • Bus Bars: BlueSea MaxiBus 250A
  • 24/12VDC converter: Victron 20A non-isolated

Questions/Concerns
  • Grounding; I've read/watched plenty of stuff, but I'm still confused on what I should do!? ?
    • My understanding is I'll ground the battery to the chassis; and everything with a ground connection I'll connect to the chassis as well; no ground-return in the system, everything goes back to the negative bus-bar.
    • So for example, if a fault occurs in the fridge, the fridge frame may become live, but is grounded to the van wall so becomes the negative conductor in this case, back to the battery; allowing the circuit to complete and the breaker to trip?
    • I'm still reading up more on this, trying to get a fundamental understanding...
  • I chose to use circuit breakers for all the all the main components - is this okay?
    • Reasons for using circuit breakers: