diy solar

diy solar

Sailboat batteries: EVE/CALB or Fortune/Winston?

Digikey is great and I buy a lot of stuff there. Just never considered wire and lugs.

I also have fortune 100Ah cells in my sailboat, 1200 Ah worth. I am trying to find where to get the red 18-22awg connectors that will fit over the 10mm posts on the batteries. I can’t seem to find them or the 7/16 ring terminal size anywhere.

Does anyone know where I can get 20 of them?

john
I have 16 Frey batteries that I have been testing for 6 months and are destined for my sailboat. I think these are the same manufacturer as "Fortune". See spec sheet attached.

John, I would like to configure these 16 cells as 4P4S (as i have a lot of legacy 12 volt systems and a very small inverter). Are you running your batteries in paralle packs? If so, any issues?

Attachments

• FREY36130265-100PF (1).pdf
    479.6 KB · Views: 4
  • IMG_8135.jpg
    IMG_8135.jpg
    385.8 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
I'm partial to the Fortune cells. They aren't the cheapest or lightest, but they have a design that permits constructing a solid battery in pretty much any configuration you choose using ss threaded rods and nuts.Just my two cents. YMMV
Greygoast, are you running a bow thruster through a FET based BMS?

I'm surprised it can handle the surge load. If so, good to know that the Fet BMS' can handle big inductive loads.

you know you yachting types argue more than any normal women right? just saying, i hung out on a few back in the day to get ideas about lithium battery packs prior to finding this forum and if one boater said the water was a sickly green color somebody else would immediately argue that it was chartreuse :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

Also consider whether the battery can withstand high-rate discharge. What I like about Winston is that it can withstand 10C instantaneous discharge