diy solar

diy solar

Solar setup needed to run RV AC 13,500BTU

ronm69

I am just getting started with this solar stuff and now have a chance to set it up on my new 27' TT with a 13,500 BTU AC unit. I want to be able to run my AC whenever I want along with everything else off grid. I am just one guy with my dog that will be living full time in my RV. I am looking at the all-in-one system you show on your site (24v MPPSolar unit). I will also have the EasyStart installed on the AC to lower the startup load typically needed.

So, how many watts of solar panels (I see you mention poly as your favorite) and amp hours of batteries (DIY or Lithium) would be needed (at a minimum) to do this without needing a generator very often to top off the batteries. I currently live in south Florida and expect to have plenty of sun. I'm comfortable building the DIY setup if it's cheaper than the All-In-One system. Thanks for your help with this and love your videos.

First thing is to determine exactly how much energy in watt or amp hours you need per day. From that you can start calculating storage needs. After that you need to determine hours of sunlight available for charging to see how many panels you need to make up your daily consumption. All your appliances should list their power consumption somewhere. Great project!

Until I pick it up I don't have that info, but I have a ballpark idea of what is required, but after some research I am wondering if the 13,500 btu ac that is standard on my TT is more than it needs. It's 27' with one slide, so while I can't find the exact sq ft, I am guessing around 300 (open floorplan) at most. And recommendations for that size space is around 7000-8000 btu. The smaller unit would require less energy use, but would it now run for longer periods?